Thank you Sir Chesebrough

I have a lot of favourite chemicals, including caffeine and paracetamol. Lately, though, my favourite chemical has become soft paraffin. Soft paraffin (petroleum jelly or petrolatum) is a non-polar, hydrophobic hydrocarbon mixture. It is not one chemical structure but a mixture of hydrocarbon chains (around 25 carbons in length) with a melting point similar to that of the human body’s temperature.

Pentacosane

n-Pentacosane

I suffer from excruciatingly itchy legs, mostly in the winter months. It keeps me (and my poor other half) awake at night. I can even draw blood without realising. Various creams keep my itching at bay but what most of these creams/lotions/balms have in common is that they contain soft paraffin. This works by forming a layer that prevents loss of moisture from my skin and also protects my skin from harsh conditions.

This stuff saves me from having sleepless nights and scarred legs, so thank you Sir Chesebrough for devising the process of extracting these chemicals from oil (U.S. Patent 127,568) and believing wholeheartedly in your product.

Are there any chemists you wish to thank for an amazing or useful discovery? If so, who and why?

One thought on “Thank you Sir Chesebrough

  1. you may consider buying air-conditioner humidifier.

    I was living with friends in their house in Baltimore suburb. Come Fall, I started to have uncontrollable urge to scratch myself all over – it was embarrassing, and continued well into winter when I moved out. I did not have lice. I was told by my friends that they were having problem with very dry air in their home every winter. The day I moved back to Florida the itching stopped. So I don’t know it if was air, or allergy to their pets or whatever else, but it was seasonal and related to the place/ Try the humidifier

Leave a comment